top of page
Search
  • Courtney

Family Favorite Banana Bread



This banana bread is a staple at family gatherings now. I didn't make it for Easter this year and was asked by two uncles where it was and why I didn't make it. It is rare for there to be any left at the end of the day because it is THAT good. No one realizes it is gluten free unless they know I can't have gluten and only cook gluten free foods.


*Tip: We eat a lot of bananas in my home, so it is not often that I have three ripe bananas at once unless I purposefully buy three to ripen just for this bread. However, if I have one banana left that is getting too ripe for our taste, I will freeze it until I have two other ripe bananas to use as well. It takes less than an hour to thaw a frozen banana on the kitchen counter.


• 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (I use Bob's Red Mill 1 to 1 Gluten Free Flour)

• 2 large eggs

• 3/4 cup sugar

• 1/2 teaspoon salt

• 1 teaspoon baking soda

• 3 medium bananas

• 8 Tablespoons butter, margarine, or dairy free substitute

• 1/3 cup chopped walnuts or chocolate chips (optional)


Instructions:

1. Cream sugar and butter


2. Use a fork to mash the bananas in a bowl before adding to the sugar and butter mixture. Beat the eggs and add to the mixture. Stir in the beaten eggs and mashed bananas.


3. Slowly mix in the flour, salt, and baking soda. Be careful not to over mix or your bread will not rise.



*If desired, fold in the walnuts or chocolate chips at this point.*


4. Pour into a greased loaf pan or muffin pan.

5. Bake at 350°F for 40 to 50 minutes for a loaf or 15 minutes for mini muffins.



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page